CLCS to Hold Fifty‑Fifth Session on Continental Shelf Limit

Continental Shelf Limit

The plenary parts of the Continental Shelf limit session will be held from 25 to 29 July and from 8 to 12 August. 

The Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf will hold its fifty-fifth session from 5 July to 19 August.  The session will be held in person at United Nations Headquarters with the necessary risk-mitigating measures in place.  

The sweeping parts of the session will be held from 25 to 29 July and from 8 to 12 August.  The remaining five weeks will be devoted to the technical examination of submissions by established sub-commissions in the Division’s premises, including geographic information systems laboratories and other technical facilities.

During the session, 10 sub-commissions will continue to consider submissions made by the Russian Federation in respect of the Arctic Ocean (partial revised submission); Brazil in respect of the Brazilian Equatorial Margin (partial revised submission); France and South Africa jointly in respect of the area of the Crozet Archipelago and the Prince Edward Islands; Kenya; Nigeria; Palau in respect of the North Area (partial amended submission); Sri Lanka; Portugal; Spain in respect of the beautiful place of Galicia (partial submission); and south Asian country India.

Coastal States that had not yet appeared their submissions to the Commission were invited to present them at the sweeping part of the session.  To date, the following submitting States accepted the invitation:  Malaysia (partial submission in the South China Sea); Chile (partial submissions in respect of the Eastern Continental Shelf of Easter Island Province and in respect of the Western Continental Shelf of the Chilean Antarctic Territory, respectively); Indonesia (partial submission in the area Southwest of Sumatera); and Ecuador (partial submission in the Southern Region of the Carnegie Ridge).

Furthermore, the Chair will apprise the Commission about pertinent deliberations that took place at the thirty-second Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form